Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2009, 05:45 PM   #481
Rick Simon
Registered
 
Rick Simon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
3 Highscores

Location: Michigan
Posts: 93
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Most people didn't like the autolights, especially when it went into sillouhette form. But it served two functions: allowing the starfish to go onto the glass, and preventing burn-in. Now that the whole background moves, burn-in shouldn't be a problem.  
Except for those of us with multi-monitor displays that are wide enough, though there should be few of us.
Rick Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 06:04 PM   #482
rctneil
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 239
yeh, my MA3 does not scroll with 2 widescreen displays.

I liked the auto lights but not the silhouette part as Jim said. One idea to get around this would be two have a slider:

At one end would be lights fully bright and at the other would be silhouette mode and the slider would have two slider marks on it. The user can then move the sliders along the bar and position them to be how the autolights should be. So then the user can cut out the silhouette part if they wish.

Sounds complicated in my explanation but would be very easy for the user which i guess is one of your aims!
rctneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 07:13 PM   #483
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
Some day there will be a full interface for the user to set the lighting and background colors, as well as automatic changes.

By the way, I found the cause of the crashing bug that I've been chasing around the Logo interface section when more than one monitor is used. Now I just have to find the best way to fix it.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 09:49 AM   #484
JamesMeacham2005
Registered
 
JamesMeacham2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009

Posts: 17
OMG

Jim I just loaded 3.0 beta on my new computer and all I can say is WOW! As a holder of a BS in aquatic resources I have a special respect for your screen saver. It has been worth the wait for this update. I would love more classical music included in the updates. Also working fine on system

Thanks
JamesMeacham2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 11:21 AM   #485
Bob
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2002

Location: Florida
Posts: 103
You'll be able to add your own music to the aquarium play list.
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 11:25 AM   #486
zeeric
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2009

Posts: 11
err can we speak of burn in on lcd ? and thanks for explaining the reason of the silhouette form... and by the way, in my country, in a lot of computer shop, your aquarium as often be showed. and continue to be on all the screen (but the 2.6 not the beta). waiting for next beta an old defender of the crown player
zeeric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 11:42 AM   #487
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
JamesMeacham2005 - Thanks for the comments. You can load any music you wish into the Playlist.

Zeeric - You're right, burn-in has not been a real problem for many years, except on Plasma displays. Even those can often be "reset" by displaying a full-white image for a while.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 02:51 PM   #488
ESHIREY
Smilie Dragon
 
ESHIREY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 4,723
JamesMeacham2005. I would like to you to the forum.
ESHIREY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 12:37 PM   #489
timelord
Time is relative.
 
timelord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Location: United States, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20
Jim,

I see that you have new features in the new beta to control the logos and clocks. I have to say that I personally prefer having the option to display the clock as long as I like instead of limiting the amount of time it will be displayed. I also noted the last time I ran the Aquarium that if you hit the spacebar for settings and change fish settings you can just esc out and return to the aquarium. If I select ok the screen will flicker before it returns to the running aquarium.
Richard
timelord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 12:41 PM   #490
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
You can always just put the clock in the Logolist as the only item. But you are not alone in mentioning this, so I'll probably have to add a keystroke to permanently display the clock. Maybe ALT-C.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 01:29 PM   #491
timelord
Time is relative.
 
timelord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Location: United States, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20
Jim,

I think that would be a great idea to have the ability to retain the clock you prefer.
Thanks,
Richard
timelord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 11:24 AM   #492
Stew2000
Registered
 
Stew2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007

Location: UK
Posts: 89
Big Grin

I now have a 22" LCD HDTV for my PC & PS3.
The aquarium looks so amazing running at 35fps at 1680x1050.
I am now a happy man
Stew2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 12:24 PM   #493
tyler84
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2007

Posts: 10
great job!! but is it possible to make the background totally black/dim out.. like in the prev versions.. or am i missing something.. thanks in advance..
tyler84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 12:37 PM   #494
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
Not yet. More control of the background lighting is coming.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 12:15 PM   #495
IsoArt
Registered
 
IsoArt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009

Posts: 3
I just bought this from the Prolific/SereneScreen site and must say that the Aquarium is amazing. The best I've ever seen. I'm wondering if there are any plans on seeing the names of fish, coral, etc by pressing a key? It would be a great learning tool for my kids (and myself).
IsoArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 12:41 PM   #496
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
It's been suggested before, and I'm considering it. Meanwhile, the names are available in the Fishpicker interface.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 12:43 PM   #497
loub516
Registered
 
loub516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002

Location: Savannah, Ga.
Posts: 421
You can already get good fish info in the the Marine Aquarium Settings (Right click on MA3) then click the fish settings button. Clicking on any fish will show info on the left. Don't think we'll be seeing coral info anytime soon. Hopefully anyway, right Cliff.
LB

Last edited by loub516; 02-26-2009 at 05:11 AM.
loub516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:07 PM   #498
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,919
You could also visit the fan site.
https://www.feldoncentral.com/Sachs/...ask=view&id=13
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:35 PM   #499
ESHIREY
Smilie Dragon
 
ESHIREY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 4,723
ESHIREY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 04:06 PM   #500
IsoArt
Registered
 
IsoArt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009

Posts: 3
Originally posted by feldon32:
You could also visit the fan site.
https://www.feldoncentral.com/Sachs/...ask=view&id=13  
Thanks for this link. Nice Info!
IsoArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.