Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2009, 07:05 AM   #1
Royce
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2009

Posts: 8
Please add a user customisable exit button

Please please please add a user customizable exit button. I run the screensaver on a windows media center pc. The old aquarium would exit on any of the buttons I pressed on the remote - eg. start media center (otherwise known as the green button), or the back button (i think it's mapped to backspace). Now with the version 3 beta, none of my remote buttons will exit the screen saver (seems only Escape key will exit). Alternatively please add an option to disable all hotkeys and allow any keyboard key to wakeup screensaver. I love this product so much I paid for the upgrade without even trying it. But now it's useless for me like this.
Royce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 09:50 AM   #2
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
Do the remote buttons work if you turn on Exit On Mouse Move?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 11:38 AM   #3
hololo
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2007

Location: Taipei Taiwan
Posts: 43
And release new beta or final 3.0
hololo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 01:01 PM   #4
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
I'm not quite sure what "final 3.0" means. Are people waiting for me to guarantee that I will never add or improve anything again?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 05:47 PM   #5
Royce
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2009

Posts: 8
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Do the remote buttons work if you turn on Exit On Mouse Move?  
Tried that and it didn't help.
Royce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 07:07 PM   #6
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
I'm trying to picture what would be different between 2.6 and 3.0, regarding what causes an exit. The only thing that I could think of was the fact that Exit on Mouse Move defaulted to ON with the old program, and now (temporarily) defaults to OFF.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 11:49 PM   #7
Edgar
Prolific/SereneScreen Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
1 Highscore

Location: Norwalk, CA
Posts: 513
The problem is more likely that SC_CLOSE message does not try to exit.
We need to call the WM_CLOSE on that message.
Edgar Tolentino
Prolific Developer

www.prolific.com
www.LifeGlobe.com
Edgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 12:19 AM   #8
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
OK, I'll take care of it.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 02:37 AM   #9
Royce
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2009

Posts: 8
One other thing I'd like to point out is that ALT+F4 is ignored. That used to work on 2.6.

I hope a new version can be released soon. Version 3 looked glorious on my 50" plasma.
Royce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 09:15 AM   #10
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
What's ALT+F4 again?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 10:14 AM   #11
321liftoff
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Posts: 16
Alt+F4 is a windows keyboard shortcut to close the active window/application.

You can try it on your favorite application. If it's your programming environment, just make sure that you try it AFTER you save all your awesome updates to the clams.
321liftoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 10:32 AM   #12
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
What a cumbersome and arcane way of exiting the program. Why not just hit Esc, or right-click/Exit, or have Exit-on-Mousemove turned on?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 11:34 AM   #13
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,919
If Esc was all you had to press to completely close a program, using computers with modern operating systems would be a nightmare.

It would be possible to get completely kicked out of banking apps, chat software, development environments, Microsoft Word, etc. by pressing 1 key.

Alt-F4 just difficult enough to type that nobody will accidentally do it, and it has been the Windows standard since 1994. For 15 years, all Windows software has been designed to accept the Alt-F4 keystroke to exit. By the way, in Firefox, you can close individual tabs with Ctrl-F4.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 07:21 PM   #14
Edgar
Prolific/SereneScreen Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
1 Highscore

Location: Norwalk, CA
Posts: 513
Alt-F4 is a shortcut for CloseWindow. SC_CLOSE is the message the app will see.
Edgar Tolentino
Prolific Developer

www.prolific.com
www.LifeGlobe.com
Edgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 08:25 PM   #15
dwax
Registered
 
dwax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002

Location: SOUTH DAKOTA
Posts: 83
I have Exit On Mouse Move turned off. I have a Razer Copperhead mouse. If I press themiddle button (Scroll) the program will exit.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
By dustywax at 2011-12-13
dwax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 06:52 AM   #16
Royce
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2009

Posts: 8
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
What a cumbersome and arcane way of exiting the program. Why not just hit Esc, or right-click/Exit, or have Exit-on-Mousemove turned on?  
You're forgetting my original problem. I am doing this from a remote control. The buttons that make most sense to exit the screensaver are backspace (media center remotes use this as the back key - same as the browser) and my custom exit button (which transmits ALT+F4).

Both of these key combinations worked just fine on 2.6. Exiting via Escape key is a horrible concept (nice little summary provided by feldon33 ). Please provide additional options!
Royce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 10:33 AM   #17
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
OK, I'll look into it.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 05:10 PM   #18
Royce
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2009

Posts: 8
Hi,

It's been some time and the latest beta I downloaded still has this issue.. any progress on this?

I'd really like to start using version 3, seeing as I paid for it!
Royce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 11:33 AM   #19
aann
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Posts: 5
I agree that Alt+F4 to close the screen saver is good behaviour. The Beta10d MA3 handles it in windowed mode, but not full screen
[edit]seems like an "[ ] exit on keypress" option would solve it to everyone's liking[/edit]
aann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 12:55 PM   #20
rps
Registered
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Posts: 57
Originally posted by aann:
I agree that Alt+F4 to close the screen saver is good behaviour. The Beta10d MA3 handles it in windowed mode, but not full screen
[edit]seems like an "[ ] exit on keypress" option would solve it to everyone's liking[/edit]  

As mention earlier, "Alt-F4" to close a window/application is standard windows behavior (and has been for a decade and a half). This key combination should work regardless of which mode the screen saver is in.

The "exit on keypress" option seem like a reasonable request as well (assuming that is defaulted off) that shouldn't be too hard to implement.

Just my $0.02.

~Ralph S.
rps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.