Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > Prolific/LifeGlobe Products > Goldfish Aquarium 2 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2003, 12:42 AM   #1
IXNAY
Green Frog
 
IXNAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002

Location: Germany
Posts: 840
Thumbs Up ** Goldfish Aquarium version 1.0 (Oct 8th)!!!**

As can be read at http://www.lifeglobe.com/news:

Goldfish Aquarium 1.0 released
"Prolific Publishing, Inc. is pleased to announce that the much anticipated release of LifeGlobe Goldfish Aquarium 1.0 is now available. Early buyers of the beta version can now download the free update. Amazing attention to detail and world class artwork continue to prove that Prolific sets the trends and break the boundaries of screensavers


In addition, the Goldfish Aquarium features animated plant life which can be set from a Zen-like tranquility with richly detailed pebble and rock garden base, to a lush swaying aquatic forest."

Here is the downloadlink for version 1.0:
http://download.lifeglobe.com/downlo...quarium-V1.exe
(but don't forget to check the new designed Lifeglobe homepage)

Now my comment, the new version looks really nice. I think the biggest improvement is making the plants more detailed. Finally they look really nice. Uhm and Cliff's little triangle is still there, I hope this tiny bug will be terminated somewhen.
Can't see any other improvements right now, have to watch it a little longer. For me I think it's really cool what you've done with the plants, I really really like it, good work guys!!!
IXNAY

*dreaming of the serene terrarium*


- My Private Homepage -
IXNAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 05:45 AM   #2
Pushwall
Fellow Twang
 
Pushwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002

Posts: 133
Thumbs Down

Goodbye betas! Long live Version 1!!!
Pushwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 06:14 AM   #3
James
Principal Engineer as SDET
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002

Location: Was in Auckland, New Zealand, Now in Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 1,406
Downloading now....
it seem no new feature? nothing said about it on Release note
James C Chen
Principal Engineer as SDET, Connected Services
HTC Corporation
88 Section 3. Zhongxing Road
Xindian District, New Taipei City 231, Taiwan
www.htc.com
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 06:15 AM   #4
James
Principal Engineer as SDET
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002

Location: Was in Auckland, New Zealand, Now in Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 1,406
The new layout of the website is nice though....
James C Chen
Principal Engineer as SDET, Connected Services
HTC Corporation
88 Section 3. Zhongxing Road
Xindian District, New Taipei City 231, Taiwan
www.htc.com
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 06:22 AM   #5
xrayspex
Registered
 
xrayspex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: New York City
Posts: 74
Beautiful.
xrayspex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 06:42 AM   #6
ESHIREY
Smilie Dragon
 
ESHIREY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 4,723
Just got it . Thanks for the info buddy .
Thank you for taking the time to read this.
ESHIREY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 10:52 AM   #7
Xylem
Registered
 
Xylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003

Location: Belleville, Michigan
Posts: 68
I just got v1.0, too. Isn't it beautiful!!

BTW, I like the green triangle I think it's just a little algae. What we need now is a snail to eat it. Maybe Liath can suggest one

And, although I know I won't be Mr. Popular with my complaints, but I still think that the "Operation" segment of the FAQs could be placed in the program under 'help' to make it more accessible. And there is no mention under 'tank configuration' that the order of tanks can be rearranged by click and drag (which I think is a nice feature).

But, no mistake, this is a superb piece of art !!
Asus P5E3 Premium, Q9550, 8G DDR3, Palit Radeon HD 4870, Windows 7
Xylem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 12:21 PM   #8
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,919
I don't know if 1.0 has any new features/bugfixes over the Sept 30th beta/release candidate.

I think the idea was to get to a level where everything works and call it 1.0.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 12:49 PM   #9
IXNAY
Green Frog
 
IXNAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002

Location: Germany
Posts: 840
Ah ok, haven't installed the last two version because I were not at home.
I remember Reichart said that there will be ornaments after 1.0, are we getting close to that???
https://www.feldoncentral.com/forums...threadid=1454&
IXNAY

*dreaming of the serene terrarium*


- My Private Homepage -
IXNAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 03:37 PM   #10
James
Principal Engineer as SDET
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002

Location: Was in Auckland, New Zealand, Now in Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 1,406
Originally posted by feldon27
I don't know if 1.0 has any new features/bugfixes over the Sept 30th beta/release candidate.

I think the idea was to get to a level where everything works and call it 1.0.
I see, no wonder I don't see any new thing in this version, however, a version with everything fixed is eligible to call it 1.0
James C Chen
Principal Engineer as SDET, Connected Services
HTC Corporation
88 Section 3. Zhongxing Road
Xindian District, New Taipei City 231, Taiwan
www.htc.com
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 05:40 PM   #11
Socrates
Sage
 
Socrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001

Location: West Hills, CA
Posts: 1,529
Well, when I first installed 1.0, it had all the lights all the way down and it took me 20 minutes to figure out that my machine didn't have a problem... after that it looks good, runs stable so far.
Bat rays? We don't need no stinking bat rays!
Socrates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 05:52 PM   #12
Schnaaps
prolificus penguinus
 
Schnaaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002

Location: Prolific
Posts: 204
Version 1.0 is simply the last beta version with a version number bumped up. We kept fixing and improving until there were no significant bugs.
"Jim, no not THAT Jim but another of the same name"

JamesRathbun.com
Schnaaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 07:15 PM   #13
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,370
Originally posted by Schnaaps
Version 1.0 is simply the last beta version with a version number bumped up. We kept fixing and improving until there were no significant bugs.
Why is the lack of "help" not considered a bug? All the "Tank Settings" need major instructions to figure out how to make them work........ if they even do.
On my system... making selections does nothing! I can cycle the tanks with "]". I can cycle the tanks by selecting "cycle tanks" . BUT the check marks do squat. The SS allways comes up with the last used screen.. So, if I shut it off while cycling it will re start later in "that" mode... but again irrespective of the tank settings.
Perhaps.. because I have installed beta over beta (never "un installing" the GA) my registry is screwed up. Is there a "registry" cleaner? What entries should I manually clear out? Or, which ones could be suspect?

But, I am acting as a devils advocate on this issue, I can easily live with it as it is..

Windows98SE DX 8.1 Nvidia Riva TNT (temporarily, my Asus died)
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 07:47 PM   #14
klyntun
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
Just a little off topic, but there are a number of free registry cleaners at www.majorgeek.com. I'm thinking of downloading one myself. (klyntun quietly vies with IXNAY and Tiny Turtle for the supreme title of Thread Hijacker Extrodinaire--the "THE" award, an article of articles).
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 11:26 PM   #15
sunny
Registered
 
sunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003

Location: Penang,Malaysia
Posts: 277
Embarassed water shadow effects

i'd notice that the gravel on left and right (back portion) don't have the shadow effects. you will probaly see it more clearer in the "rocks only" mode.
can we have them in the future update?it will looks more real..
just a thought.......
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled.jpg (21.3 KB, 3956 views)
sunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 06:55 AM   #16
Xylem
Registered
 
Xylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003

Location: Belleville, Michigan
Posts: 68
On the other hand, that's what seems to give it a 3D effect.
Asus P5E3 Premium, Q9550, 8G DDR3, Palit Radeon HD 4870, Windows 7
Xylem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 08:46 AM   #17
Reichart
CTO Prolific Publishing
 
Reichart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Maui
Posts: 423
1. Q: Why is the lack of "help" not considered a bug?

1. Q: Why is the lack of "help" not considered a bug?

A: Because, while a bug is not black and white, it is usually something clearly defined as “preventing the operation of the program.”

While not knowing all the features of the product might be annoying for you, it does not prevent you from simply running it, and enjoying it.

We classify bugs as:

A: Absolute Crash
B: Bad Flaw in functionality
C: Cosmetic or superficial.
D: Deficiency (This is where Help would fall)
E: Enhancement request

Products tend to ship as long as all the As and Bs are fixed.

Lastly, we are planning to build a pretty smart Help file online very soon. Which in my opinion is where ALL manuals and help files should be for all products (software, hardware, and services).

At some point people have to agree to ship a product. Since we improve all of our products, all of the time, we already offer more than companies 10-100 times our size.

Our Release notes (http://www.lifeglobe.com/product/Gol...fo/release.php) is pretty cool. We now feature it on our main page, and we are about to start migrating it from LifeGlobe back to SereneScreen, and our other sites.
Reichart... , CTO, Prolific Publishing, Inc.
Come visit us Prolific Publishing, Inc.
Reichart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 09:30 AM   #18
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Re: water shadow effects

Originally posted by sunny
i'd notice that the gravel on left and right (back portion) don't have the shadow effects. you will probaly see it more clearer in the "rocks only" mode ........
I have reported this bug on two other threads, - glad to hear someone else has noticed it!
Dappled Light Play Bug ?
"Simple Tank" (and others with gravel, but less than maximum plants), have no dappled light play on the area of gravel that was previously planted! ... I can understand what's happened, but it looks quite strange on the Simple Tank!
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 08:44 PM   #19
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,370
Re: 1. Q: Why is the lack of "help" not considered a bug?

Originally posted by Reichart
1. Q: Why is the lack of "help" not considered a bug?
While not knowing all the features of the product might be annoying for you, it does not prevent you from simply running it, and enjoying it.
This is true..... and I enjoy running it, and appreciate having been a member of your beta test.
But.. I have the advantage of being a "reasonably" active member of this forum.. And consider myself somewhat computer literate.
So, on behalf of the novice "rookie" who purchases the GA (and who may not have all these advantages). If a check mark does "nothing", and there is no information on what it should or should not do then, trust me, there is some level of frustration with the product.
As some one who downloads and "tests" a lot of software it does not take many "this does not work" episodes to make me remove the program. There is a lot of software to choose from..... including aquarium screensavers.

For what it is worth.. just my opinion
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 08:52 PM   #20
Reichart
CTO Prolific Publishing
 
Reichart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Maui
Posts: 423
1. Q: If a check mark does "nothing"
A: Which check mark does nothing?
Reichart... , CTO, Prolific Publishing, Inc.
Come visit us Prolific Publishing, Inc.
Reichart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > Prolific/LifeGlobe Products > Goldfish Aquarium 2 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.