Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows > Marine Aquarium 2 for Windows Archive
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2007, 10:01 AM   #441
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
I haven't been having trouble with losing data lately. My problem is getting these objects to look real. At the moment, it's clams. There are three of them, all slightly different colors. The problem is getting them to look like they are NOT just 3 instances of the same 3D object, with different tinting.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 10:32 AM   #442
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,917
Are they?

Resizing, rotating, etc. might help?
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 10:49 AM   #443
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
They've been resized, recolored, rotated, retextured, and they are not the same model, but they still look fake. They did start out as the same model, but all these clams are pretty much the same shape, so I can't think of any way to morph the models to differentiate them. When I go to an aquarium store and see all the blue clams lined up in the front of the tank, they are obviously all different. I need to figure out what makes them so.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 11:43 AM   #444
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Could it be the name badge that they all wear?
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 11:51 AM   #445
jleslie
Engineer
 
jleslie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002

Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,272
I bought a Terastation for use at work, but sent it back. It was useless on a domain and even when out of one (as most home users would have it) I found it slow (it's basically running linux on a slow microcontroller). However other people love them, so don't entirely take my word for it. (I use IcyBoxes with big hard drives in them for backup, usually over firewire and sometimes USB2. See http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...Thumbnails=yes for more.) A friend just bought a NAS he liked, I'll ask him what it was when he gets in.
John
jleslie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 01:06 PM   #446
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
Cliff - Ah, yes. I'll name the middle one "Cliff"
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 03:50 PM   #447
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,917
Originally posted by jleslie:
I bought a Terastation for use at work, but sent it back. It was useless on a domain and even when out of one (as most home users would have it) I found it slow (it's basically running linux on a slow microcontroller).  
Thanks for the testimonial! I will certainly include it in my thoughts.

Maybe I will reconsider building a cheap PC and running Windows Server 2003 on it and use its RAID controller features.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 07:14 AM   #448
jleslie
Engineer
 
jleslie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002

Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,272
This is what my friend got:
http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=509
He's happy with it, although I haven't played with it so can't comment.
John
jleslie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 11:42 PM   #449
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
My web site, fish-byte.com is down. I switched ISPs, and for some reason the new DNS just isn't working. I've got an email in to the new ISP, iPower.com, but no response yet.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 10:07 AM   #450
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,917
Please tell me you're kidding. Please tell me you didn't switch to iPowerWeb.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 10:44 AM   #451
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
I shouldn't have? They got the top reviews during my research.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 10:55 AM   #452
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Yes, but did RottenTomatoes recommend them?
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 12:29 PM   #453
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,917
I use WebHostingTalk.com for reviews.

Also I have personal experience with iPower allowing a friend's domain name to expire. A company in South Africa swiped the domain and are asking $5,000 to get it back.

iPowerWeb uses a non-standard control panel called "vDeck" for which little or no documentation exists. Whenever I have written PHP applications for the same friend who lost his domain name, I have had to modify them to work with iPower's hosting setup.

Some examples from WebHostingTalk.com:

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=585912
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showth...11#post3790994
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=460746
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=550199

Note that most of these examples are of iPower letting domains expire and fall into other people's hands. If you have registered your domain with GoDaddy or another 3rd party, then this does not affect you. GoDaddy is great for domains but terrible for web hosting, and I'm sure you already know that the worst thing you can do is have your domain name and your web hosting handled by the same company.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 01:11 PM   #454
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
All my domains are registered with Register.com. They send me frequent reminders (too frequent) when the domains are within a couple years of expiring.

I haven't tried the VDeck interface. I use Dreamweaver, and just upload my pages through FTP. Dreamweaver was able to instantly connect with my site -- far quicker than with my old ISP. In fact, for the past few months, I had been totally unable to FTP my site, and the ISP just wouldn't respond to by emails.

My only problem now is getting the site to come up through http.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 01:27 PM   #455
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,917
Well then you will probably not have any problems with iPower.

The vDeck/cPanel/Plesk control panel is needed to password-protect directories (unless you are very handy with .htaccess files), administrate e-mail accounts, setup databases, scheduled tasks, etc.

I have this site registered thru 2009 and at that point I will probably transfer it to GoDaddy.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 04:20 PM   #456
jmeacham
Registered
 
jmeacham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007

Posts: 2
I thought I should put this out there. I had trouble getting my keycode about a month ago. I sent probably 5 or 6 emails trying to get my key code. I finally called tech support.
jmeacham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 06:28 PM   #457
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
That was about the time that Prolific was having server problems. Everything should be running smoothly now.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 11:09 PM   #458
cohiba420
Registered
 
cohiba420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 63
in regards to differentiating the clams... perhaps some sort of alge or other 'growth' could do the trick?
cohiba420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 11:02 AM   #459
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
Hmm, maybe.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 12:04 AM   #460
edaniels
Goldfish Aquarium Developer
 
edaniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004

Location: Glendale, California
Posts: 82
Hey, guys... I'm a little dismayed to read the comments about iPower, because that's who I use for my goldfish website. Thanks for the heads-up, Feldon... I'll try to stay on top of my domain name's expiration date.
----------------------------------
E R I C D A N I E L S, a n i m a t o r
Goldfish Aquarium Screensaver
----------------------------------
edaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows > Marine Aquarium 2 for Windows Archive



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.