Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows > Marine Aquarium 2 for Windows Archive
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2008, 11:53 AM   #1601
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,918
Originally posted by Shaw Goodwin:
Feldon did you mean alpha test forum - which I assume is hidden. I only ask just in case I'm missing something/not looking in the correct place - I thought Jim said he would let registered users see MA3 when it got into Beta.  
I hesitated on this. It's technically labeled the Beta Test forum, but yes, we're only on Alpha right now. When the Beta is ready, it will be public.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 08:48 AM   #1602
shade2074
Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2002

Location: US - NH
Posts: 8
I can't wait to see MA3 - I had a couple of questions though.
First one was how many fish will be allowed to be on screen at once in 3.0?

Second question is now that Marine Aquarium is going 3D, will the camera (or point of view) still be stationary as it is in MA 2 or will there be an option to slowly rotate the aquarium (maybe a check box option) to be able to see it from different angles. Oh or even better can or will there also be an option so the end user can choose the angle we view the aquarium at - and have the camera 'freeze' at that angle?

Either way - I can't wait to see the new aquarium!
}<)));>
shade2074 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 08:58 AM   #1603
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,715
Right now, all of them are in the tank at once. Jim needs to make a few determinations as to if it will remain that way or not for the long haul though.

As to the other, no you cannot "rotate" the camera. But it does pan from end to end across the front. You can pause it, adjust the speed, or move it manually.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 10:21 AM   #1604
Derrek
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Posts: 186
Now you just peaked my interest with a rotating camera. That would be pretty cool. Hmm, maybe time to start a MA4.0 wish thread.
Derrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 11:26 AM   #1605
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,715
There can't be a rotating camera, only panning. Better think of another wish to add.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 12:15 PM   #1606
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
Creating a 3D scene which REALISTICALLY shows all objects from all possible camera angles is approximately 1 million times as hard as showing it from one angle. (My rough estimate may be a bit optimistic -- it might be infinitely harder ) So, if MA3 took 3 years, MA4 will take 3 million years if it is to have that feature. There will always be those who try, but their 3D scenes will never be mistaken for reality.

At least until the technology improves to something like the Star Trek Holodeck level. (But then, that thing was always causing trouble...)
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 12:20 PM   #1607
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,367
Originally posted by Jav400:
There can't be a rotating camera, only panning.  
Is "panning" the best way to describe the new version? When I think panning the camera moves in an arc. In the new SS if the camera panned either in a arc (implying a curved tank so as not to loose focus) or panned by moving back and forth in front of a flat tank one would not get the 3D effect. The new SS realy does not do this.. it is the movement of the screen that gives the illusion of 3D... I think .
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 01:14 PM   #1608
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,715
technically probably called "dollying".
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 01:32 PM   #1609
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
Yes, the camera "dollies" or "trucks" from side to side while always pointing in the same direction.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 01:06 PM   #1610
debavocet
Welcome to the Quack House!
 
debavocet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006

Location: San Diego
Posts: 56
Just curious - will it be possible to include an option where we can see the entire aquarium without continuous panning, or movement? Maybe by shrinking everything a little and adding some height?
debavocet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 04:29 PM   #1611
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
If you switch to windowed mode, you can stretch the window to any size. This includes an extremely wide window in which you can see the whole tank. Just another incredibly hard feature to implement, which my jaded Alpha testers now take for granted (Although, I must admit they have been extremely valuable in finding the numerous holes in the background caused by this mode.)
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 09:47 AM   #1612
xskiervh
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Posts: 2
Hey guys, my first post, been hanging back reading and eagerly anticipating MA3. Anyways, i just came across this at cnet.com....

http://www.dreamaquarium.com/index.html

Its pretty sweet looking i must say. Not that i dont have doubts or anything but im hoping MA3 will turn out better then this.
xskiervh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 10:55 PM   #1613
patscarr
Pet Shark
 
patscarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
1 Highscore

Location: Back in Buffalo
Posts: 5,448
Hi xskiervh and welcome to the forum. Yes, we all know and love Dream Aquarium. You can read more about it in many threads here on our forum.
here
here
here
here
and
here
Patrick
patscarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 12:38 AM   #1614
xskiervh
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Posts: 2
yeah my bad, i was way behind on that one
xskiervh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 11:52 AM   #1615
Highlander
Registered
 
Highlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Antwerp - Belgium
Posts: 87
@ patscarr

I like your avatar, sometimes i feel that way
Speccialy when i got home from work.
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups !
Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 03:22 PM   #1616
iMark
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: MIssouri
Posts: 105
It sounds really cool..I can hardly wait....
iMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 05:10 PM   #1617
patscarr
Pet Shark
 
patscarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
1 Highscore

Location: Back in Buffalo
Posts: 5,448
Thanks.
Patrick
patscarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 03:54 PM   #1618
Ricci
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: England
Posts: 25
New PC ready for MA3

Just got my new pc, looking forward to running MA3 on it:

Core 2 Quad Extreme
Dual 8800GT

Should be plenty fast enough me thinks :-)

If you need the alpha version tested on this then let me know.. wink wink.
Ricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 03:56 PM   #1619
Ricci
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: England
Posts: 25
Originally posted by Ricci:
Dual 8800GT  
Just thinking, if I plug all 4 monitors in would MA show on all of them ?
Ricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 08:30 PM   #1620
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,710
I've turned the multimonitor section over to Prolific, but if Windows supports it, then MA3 should do it.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows > Marine Aquarium 2 for Windows Archive



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.